The city of Winston has two large department stores: Namen and Roscoe. Namen is known for its high-end designer fashions, while Roscoe is known for more affordable fashion options. Both Namen and Roscoe are each considering opening another store in the growing suburb of Salem, where the population has grown over 50% in the last three years and where the median income is $75,000. Namen’s executives argue that as population and median income increase, people are willing to spend more money on clothing. However, Roscoe’s executives believe that the suburbs are more family oriented, and therefore their store will be more profitable than their competitor Namen.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Opening a new store in the growing suburb of Salem, both Namen and Roscoe stores have to take into account a lot of parameters to succeed. In this responce I will state some fallacies that will make the department stores rethink and take a better look.

To start with, the Namen department store make the assamption that: because the population has increace by 50% the last 3 years those people will spend money on high-end designer fasions which are more expensive. What made those people moved to Salem? Maybe they are poor or the Salem has much more cheaper rents. Also, the population has increased but these increased may be temporary. Thus the increase of population is not a good parameter to consider.

Furtermore, Namen made the assamption that because the median increase people are willing to spend more money on clothing. Why spending money on expencive clothing rater than Roscoe which are cheaper? Those people may be money wise. Again Namen state this fallacy without research and why this does not hold.

Finally, Roscoe's executives made the fallacy that suburbs are more family oriented. They believe that! There is luck of evidence to state that and this may hold or not. But if they are family oriented what hold back the family to spent money on expensive clothing?

To conclude, both department stores, Namen and Roscoe, made assamptions without any convising evidence. To better evaluate if Namen or Roscoe store should open in suburb of Salem should make a better research and to do some surveys that will fill up the whole porportion of the suburb not just the wealthy famillys for example Namen. Because this will alter the result.