The following is a petition to the city council of Centerville:

"Over the past three years, there has been a marked increase in cases of 'sidewalk rage,' similar to the irrational anger drivers experience on the road, but instead among sidewalk walkers. The result is an increase in assaults, property damage, and disruptions of normal pedestrian traffic. In order to address this growing problem, the council must ban cell phone use on sidewalks. Not only do people texting or using their phones slow down pedestrian traffic, but they are also more likely to walk into the road or bump into other walkers. Children are especially vulnerable because they are too short to be easily seen. Middletown passed such a ban and not only have they heard no complaints, but the reported incidents of sidewalk crime has gone down significantly."

In the given petition to the city council of Centerville, the author contents cell phones should be banned on sidewalks. The writer enumerates sveral factors to espouse the claim. The usage of cell phone brings out increased assults, property damage, and disruption of normal pedestrian traffic. Children are especially vunlearble because they are too short to be seen. In case of Middletown where passed the law of banned cell phone usage, there is no complaints and incidents of sidewalk crime has gone down significantly. Although the argument sounds plausible, copious logical flaws are presented, and the petition needs to be revised to become more irrefutable.

The first point the author described cell phone usage as a sidewalk rage and compared this to irrational anger drivers. However, the important point is the claim should not compare incidents of sidewalks to driving. The severity of driving is more trendmendous than simply using a phone while people walk on the sidewalk, and it can deceisve the readers to imply using a phone on sidewalk is henious crime.

Also, the author mentioned increased reports are found in Centerville. The absolute number of indicents must be given in order to convince that pedestrians are suffering from sidewalk range. If an increased incidens indicates only few more cases, and. severity of incidens are mild, the impacts of such a ban is going to be too big, and people would complain more about the ban.

The comparision of Middletown is not quiet releated. The situation of Middletown can be differented from the situation of Centerville. For example, in case of Middletown where passed such a ban recently, more police officers might be more wary when they patrol and give more tickets since it is newly introduced. Also, residents might have not been complained yet because they did not experience enough to find out uncomfortable problem. The author needs to specify the situation of Middletown such as how long the cell phone usage is prohibited.

Lastly, the author should delineate the side effects and its solution when the city council of Cneterville decide to prohibit the cell phone usage. The petition is not pellucid enough to be convince the readers. In order to ban the cell phone usage, the author is asked to compare negative effects after passing the ban and before. Then he or she could assert that regardless of negative impacts, passing the ban is going to be more powerful and safe to residents. In addition, since cell phones are necessity for modern days, the author can strengthen the idea by giving the alternative solution; for example, the city council can make cell phone booths on sidewalks so that if people need to use the phone, they enter the booths and use it.

The claim based on these poits is not trustworthy. In order to delivery the limpid petition, the author should elucidate inflammatory arguments so that all readers become irrefutable and uncontested.