Universities should require students to take courses only within those fields they are interested in studying.

Many people would assert that universities should require students to take courses only within those fields they are interested in studying due to saving money and time. Yet, I still strongly believe that all students, regardless of their majors, should take elective courses which are not strictly related to field of pursue. I am going to delineate my reasons to bolster my belief.

Of course, focusing on a student's major is extremely crucial in order to attain profound knowledge about his or her major. Even, disregarding elective courses is going to allow students to save their time and cost dramatically. For example, let's assume that one student has to take a year off frequently because the student needs to save money while he is relatively older than other college students. In this case, he is going to feel unfairness and enormous burdensome to take extra elective courses, which he considers it is not even going to help him with his future.

Notwithstanding the fact that attending only field related courses gives benefits, we can ascertain bigger advantages of taking elective courses. Firstly, the ultimate object of universities is fostering well fited members of societies, who have not only sophisticated skills about their pursuing fields but also general knowledges about other fields. In order to achieve to educate students to become members of larger society, paradoxically, each student requires to take elective courses. For instance, one masterful electric engineer is having a brilliant skills about his major, but the person is not able to save any money because the engineer does not know how to save or invest which could be taught in universities. Learning elective courses that are not related to majors can broad own's knowledge is conducive to produce a well adapted a social member.

In addition, students can broaden their understanding toward other professions, and I argue this is highly important process to become not pedantic on only their fields. In a society, people tend to show paucity of understanding other fields. Mentioning the engineer example again, if the person did take the economic courses, he could at least have a intutive sense of economics and he could show deeper understanding of real world economics. The world interconnect with higher complexity with every fields, and only one part is not going to lead the rest of people in the world. I assure that taking elective courses are going to provide a great opportunity to understand and broaden the insight of the world.

To sum up, even though taking other courses can be great burdensome in terms of time and tuition, elective courses are going to allow students to experience other professions and become a protean member of society. In order to encourage students to take many elective courses, universities are asked to find alternative options to reduce burdensome to students such as more scholarships or various time selection with class so that students can take elective courses any time. Along a better improvement of universities systems', it is going to liberate students to take elective courses- which is necessary - with more genorisity.