The following is a petition to the city council of Centerville:

"Over the past three years, there has been a marked increase in cases of 'sidewalk rage,' similar to the irrational anger drivers experience on the road, but instead among sidewalk walkers. The result is an increase in assaults, property damage, and disruptions of normal pedestrian traffic. In order to address this growing problem, the council must ban cell phone use on sidewalks. Not only do people texting or using their phones slow down pedestrian traffic, but they are also more likely to walk into the road or bump into other walkers. Children are especially vulnerable because they are too short to be easily seen. Middletown passed such a ban and not only have they heard no complaints, but the reported incidents of sidewalk crime has gone down significantly."

In the Petition to the city council of Centerville, it is stated that,a ban should be imposed on cell phone usage while using a side-walk in order to reduce the side walk crimes. This conclusion was arrived based on the issues faced by Middletown and that people using cell phones are bound to slow pedestrian traffic or bump into each other causing accidents. However, brfore this recommendation can be evaluated, three questions must be answeredd.

First of all, Does Middletown have the same number of people using phones in the sidewalk as in Centerville? - Perhaps the population of people using phones in Centreville is considerablly more than Middletown, thus even before a cell phone ban was imposed in Middele town, there was not much complaint recieved. Further, the reduce in sidewalk crimes in Middletown possibly was due to some other cause like arresting the major criminals,who were responsible for all the side-walk crime in the town. If the above scenario hold merit, then the conclusion made in the arguement is weakened.

Secondly, are the assault and property damage in the Centerville sidewalk really due to people using cell phones in sidewalk ? - It is possible that all those crimes mentioned in the argument happening in sidewalks of Centerville is never really caused by the cell phone usage in sidewalk. For instance, it was caused by the recent inflation of the Ville. The people possibly went rouge and wants to show thier opposition towards the government. Or, Maybe it was caused by the homeless people who are staying in the sidewalk. They probably lashed out at the people and their properties in the side walk, as a result of anger due to their perenious condition. If the above examples are true, then the arguement doesnt hold water.

Finally, Are children really vulnerable in the sidewalks with people using cell phones? - It is greately possible that the children are never left to walk alone in a side walk. Maybe there is a parent or guardian always watching them and keeping them close. Also, there is possisbility that as the people are bending to look at theie cellphones while using it, the children are easily visible because they are too short. If the above stands true, then the argument is refuted.

In conclusion, as the arguement stands now, it us considerablye flawed due to its reliance on unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the three questions and provide more evidence (prehaps in a systematic approach) then it will be possible to eavluate the viability of the recommendation to impose a ban on cell-phone in sidewalks.