Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

the most important characteristic of an effective leader is that he is able to make sound moral judgements. It is what will help to run a country crisis free. when in need of a critical decision making we can always rely on a person with good morality and thinking skills.

The moral judgement is what will give birth to the law that runs the country. If a person with immoral judgement were to rule a country the laws will only be made for his own good and the people will suffer greatly. this is why i oppose the issue stated here, if an immoral person who respects his peers were to be made a leader the country will only suffer from all the immoral decisions taken. Before the moral judgement the respect given to peers stands low.

for example, the chief minister of madras state kamarajar was always known for his ethical and moral judgements. he was the one to introduce the free mid day meals provision in schools to promote education. though having such sound moral judgements he was also know for his rudeness among the peers, mainly because he absolutely disliked corrupted people and it caused him to show no repect to those people. If he were to give up his moral judgement for showing respect to is corrupted peers the state of madras would have lost a great leader who made several wonderful change for its development.

ofcourse a ethical and moral leader would have to respect even his peers equally as they are also the citizens of the country, but it doesnt make it the most important characteristic for a leader to have than implying moral judgements. thus although a leader should respect his peers it doesnt make it the most important characteristic to have like sound moral judgement.