Understanding the past is of little use to those in current positions of leadership.

The past of a country is comprised of all the important aspects that led to it's current state.Some main aspects being, the development of the constitution, Achievement of freedom, commitment of war crimes. This prompt suggests that for a current leader the understanding of the past is of very little use. In my opinion, I completely disagree with this for the following reasons.

First, Knowing about the past will help a leader to not commit the same mistake done before and move forward with a better solution for a problem. For example, the Dictatorial leader Hitler is very well known for his egregious torture towards people of other race than himself. He decimated a huge part of his neighbouring countries by waging war. For these actions he was condemed by people all over the world and the country germany was hated by many. The leaders who succeded after him were all carefull on not slipping into to another war and decimation period.Eversince, Germany has been a peacefull democratic country. thus, from this we can state that the leaders were only able to change from those dictorial rule by learning from the past mistakes made by the previous leaders.

Further, even if the past mistakes in history must be learned by all the succeding leaders, that alone is not enough, A leader should also know how the country's constitutions and laws were developed and, The mindset of the people when it was developed. Knowing the above will help the leader to effectively make changes in the constitution according the current thinking and needs of the people. For instance, the LGBTQ law was never developed in the United States while the constituion and laws were formed. It was considered a taboo among the people of those times and several laws were created oppsing the same-gender relationship. But in the 21st century, people have changed and it was not considered a taboo by most of the people in that country. If the current leader had not been able to compare the past and present mindset of people the law coudnt have been created. Thus, knowing about the past constitutions and people's thoughts in past helps a leader understand the current laws better.

Ofcourse, some might argue that for a leader looking into the future is what matters the most in the development of a country, though it is true, as stated in the above examples it cant done without the help of the past, If the leader were to commit a mistake in the future, the experience from the past will help him/her rectify it. Thus for a cuurent leader, the understating of past matters a lot.