An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

In the recommendation, it is stated that, The government should promote the new millet seeds, rich in vitamin A, developed by an international development organization. This conclusion was arrived based on the issues that people of Tagus are showing Vitamin A deficiency and the premise that millet is already a staple food in Tagus. However, before this recommendation can be evaluated, Three questions must be answered.

First of all, Will the newly developed millet breed taste the same as the old millet breed? - Perhaps, the newly millet developed, rich in vitamin A, will taste nothing like the old millet. Further, What if it doesn't work with the conventional cooking methods of Tagus ? Maybe, the new millet cannot be made into flour, which is used to make the "Ngira", A roti indigenous to Tagus. If the people are not able to make their most common food, or if the new millet doesn't taste the same, then the conclusion made is severely weakened.

Secondly, What if the subsidies that are paid paid by the government for the increased millet price is just not enough? -Maybe the pesticides that are used for farming this new millet breed is expensive than the predecessor. To add to this, maybe the country is struck an economic crisis and the government is unbale to provide the promised subsidies. If any of the above holds merit, then the recommendation doesn't hold water.

Finally, Will the new millet breed really cure the Vitamin A deficiency for the people of Tagus ? - It is possible that the newly developed millet breed doesn't cure the Vitamin A deficiency in people of Tagus. Maybe, The people of Tagus are facing deficiency in vitamin A because of the water that they drink, which contains harmful chemical wasted discarded by a leading Textile industry located in Tagus. Or, the people of Tagus are just born with Vitamin A deficiency due to genetical disorders. If that is the reason for their Vitamin A deficiency, then the people of Tagus cannot be cured by a mere change in millet breed and this causes the recommendation to loose its merit.

In conclusion, as the recommendation stands now, It is considerably flawed due to its reliance on unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the three questions and provide more evidence (perhaps in a systematic approach) then it will be possible to evaluate the viability of the recommendation to introduce the newly developed millet breed, which is rich in Vitamin A , for the people of Tagus.