Discussing controversial topics with those with contrasting views is not useful because very few people change their mind when questioned about their core beliefs.

discussing controversial topics with stubborn people holding contrasting ideolgy will always be futile. This prompt suggests, that very few people change their mind when questioned about their core beliefs in a controversial discussion with contrasting views. In my opinion, I strongly agree with this statement and accept that people will be intransigent when their ideologies are questioned in a discussion for the following reasons.

To begin, A person's beliefs and ideologies are strongly rooted in his/her mind as he/she is growing, thus, When they are forced into questioning their beliefs they won't be able to accept the truth and will take any measures to prove the opposition wrong. For example, in India, A senior-citizen named Krishnan was murdered by his own children over a partial condition in his will. He stated that whomever of his children did the most charity work in their life, gets his entire property ,or, if they dont agree, it all should be donated to a orphanage. Furious over this will, Krisnan and his children entered a heated dicussion, and one of his children, who believed that the property to be seprated in equal share between them killed Krishnan that night. The above example illustrates that when involved in a controversial discuusion people with contrasting ideas are unwilling to back down on their beliefs and will go take any bad measures to win the discussion.

Further, even if we assume that the these drastic counter measures taken to prove one's belief is very rare, there are still many ways that people lash out when questioned about their beliefs, instead of changing their mind. One of the main ways is hurting themselves, physically or mentally. For instance, Prabhu was a Indian refugee living in Srilanka. He was a labour in a costruction site. One day, while he was celebrating the tamil festival "pongal" in his house with his family, the neighbours who were citizens of Srilanka started to criticize him with his refugee status and tormented him persistently using abusive words, that he should be celebrating those "incorrect" religious beliefs. This was contionuosly going on, and one day he got involved in a heated discussion with one of those neighbours who was a policeman, and this policeman started to threatedn Prabhu that he willl be punished or deported as a refugee if he wont change his ideologies. Confused between his family's welfare and his beliefs he commited suicide. from this example we can conclude that even if a person is not aggressive toward others when questioned about his beliefs, he might torment himself over changing his mind.

Ofcourse, some might argue that if a person is questioned with proper counter points aginst his beliefs, he might actually consider changing his mind. But, mostly before changing his mind the person will just put him/her self in a confounded state and start getting aggresive before thinking thoroughly as their entire life's belief is put into questioning. Thus, people are very sensitive towards changing their beliefs when qustioned about it.