The following is from a recent email by the Diord Corp. Human Resources l\Ianager: "Tobor Technologies found that mental health problems and mental illness were responsible for about 15 percent of employee sick days. Tobor amended its employee insurance p

The Diord Corporation Human Resources Manager links the observations seen in Tobor Technologies mental illness campaign to reduce sick days, to their own company and makes the suggestion that Diord adopts a similar strategy in order to decrease the employee absentces and increase the companies productivity. Although the reports from Tobor are promising and seem sound, the recommendation by the Diord's Human Resources Manager relies on several assumptions.

The first assumption that the Manager fails to address is that the Tobor and Diord company operates the same causing their numbers to similar. In order to directly compare Tobor report that mental illness was a considerable portion of their employees sick days, Diord must make a direct comparison of the two work environments must be made. If it is found that unlike their own company, Tobor employees are operating in a high stress environment or they have a little resources such as lounges or break rooms where they can take breaks from their work, then the amount of metal illness accounts for the companies sick days may be disparate. If this type of enviroment is not found in Diord, then it calls into question if Diord has the same rate of mental illness sick days as Tobor and if they face a challenge at all.

Diord must also make a closer examination of the amount the Tobor employees utilize their new benefits. Although it is reported that new insurance benefits and on-site psychologist are present, the manager's report does not include if these recourses were taken advantage of. If not, then these two changes that are recommended are moot, and it calls into question if Tobor conducted any other changes to their company that resulted in the decrease in sick days. Furthermore even if the two initatives were used, the recommendation fails to report if their was a decrease in mental illness sick days, instead of physical health sick days.

This leads to another large assumption made in this recommendation, that the reduction of Tobor sick days were a direct result of the two new additions. Since the location of the companies is not disclosed it cannot be assumed that the two companies exist in the same region and face the same environment. If Tobor was located in a different location, then the decrease in sick days maybe be a result of a less severe flu season, a warmer winter, or any environmental factor that Diord did not face. A change in the environment causing less physical or mental illness sick days is especially plausible, since the reported data from Tobor only covers data from one year and does not demonstrate a steady and continuing trend. Without these concideration it is irresponsible for Diord to view the reduction of sick days at Tobor as a success story that should be mirrored.

In conclusion the recommendation by Diord's HR Manager is riddled with assumptions. It fails to compared the natural and work environments between Diord and Tobor, as well as investigate the usage of Tobor's new programs. Without these assumptions address it is unjustified for the Diord Corp to undertake these initatives and poor money into a program that is too new to demonstrate lasting success.