"Governments are justified in circumventing civil laws when doing so is vital to the protection of national security. "Write an essay in which you take a position on the statement above. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways

Since it's founding, the United States government has always come across points where the extent of its power came into question. At first the founding fathers wanted the government to not mirror that British monarchy that they had just escaped from, and so set up a system where the federal government had little power compared to the independent states. However this fostered a situation of confusion in the country as states pushed their own agendas forward, such as using their own currency, making commerce and travel difficult. Since then, the Constitution has been adopted and the role of the federal government has changed, but the doctorine that is the foundation of the country still contains murky areas about the extent of power the government can have. Therefore it is important to analyze if governments are justified in ignoring the civil wars that they established if they believe its in the favor of national security. Although it may seem justifiable especially in times of war when the security of the country is in question, the government having the ability to circumvent civil laws leads to slippery slope of overarching and abuse of power.

As mentioned, during times of war the government might have to take a firmer stance on its population, doing so by disregarding civil laws. This was the case in several wars, including the civil war where Lincoln suspended rights to help protect the Union and its moral. However, this suspencion often had adverse effect by not only causing disgruntlement in the population, but also causing conflict in the government. A stronger war time national security measure that highlights the negative effects an overarching governmental power can cause is during World War II when the US government placed Japanese American in interment camps under the pretense that they were protecting the nation from Japanese spies. This was a complete circumvention of civil laws by denying these Americans their rights to freedom.

The lack of justification also can be exhibited in US history outside of war enviroments. A loss of a president can be viewed by many as a threat to national security by demonstrating a weakness or void of the head of the country to foreign enemies. This is especially true in the case of impeachment, which can be viewed as a situation where the government could take action to protect itself. But it is again clear that the government is unjustified in circumventing civil laws by recalling the overarching power the government attempted to exhibit under the Nixon administration. During the Watergate scandal, President Nixon attempted to terminate the investigation by ordering the attorney general to fire the head of the probe. Fortunately Nixon had to fire and appoint three attorney generals before his order was adopted, clearly demonstrating to the American public that Nixon was deperately attempting to avoid the law and punishment that was approaching him. While this was not an illegal move by the president, it was a clear and inconpicious attempt to circumvent the law to protect the head of the country and was unjustified since the president was clearly guilty.

In conclusion, whether in war times or outside, the government is not justified in circumventing civil laws. If has the responsibility to uphold the laws that it created and stands by everyday.