The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company."According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any

Several questions have to be answered first before Super Screen Movie Production Company’s claim that a greater budget be allocated to marketing because this past year had the lowest number of attendees but highest percentage of positive reviews, be deemed reasonable. If questions about the reviews and general trends in their industry point issues towards their data, then they cannot support this claim.

The first of the question is with the creditability with the source of these reviews. Super Screen’s findings that the percentage of positive views increasing is at first an optimistic finding. It seems that according to their interpretation, they are getting more positive feedback from a random sampling of viewer. This however may not be the case since it the feedback may have not come from a random sampling, but rather a group of devoted fans that would be more forgiving to a bad movie. This is especially suspicious since devoted fan are more likely to attend the company’s movies even after a continuing trend of subpar products and provide the continual positive feedback, skewing the numbers. The company can being to answer this question by looking researching the source and history of their reviewers. If they find that a large portion of reviews come from people who continually highly rate their films, then they can identify a source of bias in their data and establish that their claim cannot be supported.

The second question that must be answered is with how these reviews are being distributed. If these reviews are already in the public eye, yet attendance is still low at Super Screen’s movies, the companies claim comes into question. In the case that these reviews are public but ignored, it is possible that the general public recognizes that these reviews are coming from biased or promoted sources and continue to believe that the production company’s movies are unworthy of their time and money.

Several factors besides the reviews must also be considered before the companies claim can be considered truthful. A major question is whether there is a greater trend behind the lower viewership. The company must not only analyze their own data, but also the data from the whole movie entertainment industry. If they witness that lower viewership is not exclusive to themselves, but is also discovered across the industry, there is a larger problem they must face. This would especially be eye opening if companies with different marketing strategies were facing the same issue and would possibly point to the fact that the general public has begun to loose interest in movies.

Super Screen Movie Production Company’s recommendation to increase their marketing budget cannot be supported without careful analysis of both the reviews they are considering and the general environment their industry is facing. Without this information, it would be unreasonable to increase their marketing budget.