To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In deve

In order to best understand the characteristics of a society, a careful inspection of it’s major cities should be conducted. Major cities are a gathering place for people from across the society to bring their culture and characteristics to share. They are a crossroad for many ideas and have the power to spread a certain aspect of the culture to become one of the most important characteristics of the society.

Major cities are the melting pot for the society, where cultural aspects from many different parts are mixed together. Therefore, by studying the major cities, one can have an overview of many different characteristics that define the society, which cannot be done outside of the cities, where only select characteristics are exhibited. For example, in America a trip to New York would be much more valuable in understanding America’s tendencies than studying a smaller town in upstate New York. In the city one can witness the ideas and culture brought in from not only the surrounding smaller towns, but also from towns from across the country and across the world, which represents Americas characteristic of being a multinational country.

Furthermore, major cities are major cultural hubs and set the trends that define the society. For instance, while blues, one of the most important American musical genres in the 20th century, originated and developed in the delta region of the American South, it was in Chicago and other migratory cities where blues blossomed into a cultural phenomeon. The musicians that came and shared their talents in Chicago where from across the South and Midwest and each brought their styles of play to share. Unlike rural Southern towns, Chicago had the power and affulency to broadcast the blues to the rest of country, sharing the culture the rural part of the country had to offer and pushing the culture forward. A small southern town would be unable to do this and therefore would be unable to reach the level of cultural importance to be considered one of the most important characteristics of the society.

While there are clear benefits to studying the major cities of a society, you can still argue that areas outside the city offer a more genuine experience to the everyday lives of the society and therefore will give you a more accurate understanding of the society itself. However, a review of ancient history reveals that the everyday life of a city dweller often comes to represent the society, rather than the people outside of the city. This is especially true since houses of power are most often seated in major cities and set the characteristics of a society. Rome is one of many examples, where a study of the major cities in the Roman Empire would provide a greater understanding of the important characteristics of the Roman Empire over the surrounding or intermediate communities between cities.

Overall while an investigation into areas outside the cities can provide insight into the lives of the members of a society, this insight is not representative of the society as a whole. It is at points where there is a seat of power or where there is a crossroad for exchange, where certain ideas or cultural aspects are pushed forward and come to define a society. Therefore an investigation into a society’s major cities is necessary in order to understand its major characteristics.