Argument Topic: "The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced

The recommendation from the advertising directior of Super Screen Movie Production Company does at first seem plausible. By increasing the marketing budget, the production company could attract more viewers, especially since there are increasingly positive reviews. However, upon closer inspection the recommendation fails to address several key points causing it be insufficient in producing any justifiable change to the company's budget.

The first area that the recommendation glosses over is if the trend that fewer people are attending their movies is only limited to their films. The decrease in viewership can be an ubiquitous trend in the movie field caused by reasons such as more viewers are viewing through streaming services instead of going to the theathers. If it is found that there is an overall trend, then the observation they make in the recommendation is not a result of lack of marketing, but rather is inaccurate data. In order to establish the true trends in their viewership, the production company must first research overall trends and then look into trends for their online viewership, since it may be found that online views are increasing at a porportional or greater rate than the decrease in theather viewership.

Another field that is inadequetly discusses are the reviews they cite. Although it is found that the precentage of positive reviews are increasing, the general public's opinion may not be the same. The company must answer the question of where these reviews are coming from, who is writing them, and what are their contents. If it turns out that these reviews are coming from die hard fan of the production company who continue to write reviews while the average viewer becomes less willing to spend the time reviewing the movie, then the increasing trend of percentage is invalid to cite. Even if these reviews are coming from film critics the contents of the reviews can highlight that the possible decrease in viewership is not actually from problems with marketing. For example if these positive reviews are lauding the camera work or costume design, instead of the movie being a compelling story, then it makes sense that these positive reviews are not clicking with the average moviegoer and more of the viewership problem stems from the production side and not the marketing side.

Fianlly there are questions about current marketing efforts that need to be addressed. The major question is what is the company's current marketing strategy. If the current strategy is placing ads in locations where their target audience does not see them, then simply increasing the marketing bugdet will be simply just wasteful. For instance if the company is advertising their movie targeted towards 20 year olds in AARP magazine, then they are clearly mismarketing and need a serious review. If the company discovers that their current marketing strategies are ineffective then increasing the budget will just place more ads in unseen locations and they will not be able to reach the public.

In conclusion the recommendation from the advertising director is riddled with holes and answered questions that need to be addressed before any action is taken by the company. Otherwise the company may needlessly spend more money or shift funds away from areas that need it more to attempt to solve a problem that may be no existant or can be solved without any fiscal action.