GRE Argument: An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, far

In the recommendation, it states that a novel strand of millet which contains a higher rate of vitamin A should be adopted by the Tagus government in order to combat vitamin A deficiency. Although at first glance this recommendation seems sound, several questions must first be answered before it is adopted into practice. Without answers to these questions it would be irresponsible for the Tagus government to adhere to the plan recommended.

The first series of questions surround the issue of vitamin A. The memo does not state the severity of the vitamin A deficiency and so it is impossible to know if it is even an area of concern. Following up on this issue is the question of if vitamin A is even that necessary towards a healthy person. If it is found that either the deficiency is not that great, or that vitamin A at the level the Tagus citizens are recieving is sufficient to a healthy diet, then the recommendation is completely invalid and leads readers to wonder if the international development organization is attempting to promote a more expensive or profitable alternative millet.

Another area of assumptions that the recommendation fails to address is the ability of the Tagus government to provide farmers with subsidies. It is noted that the nation of Tagus is impoverished, so it is very likely that the government will not be able to support the farmers to make the switch. If it is discovered that the government is incapable in undertaking this task, then the farmers will either not be able to afford the switch and enter further poverty, or pass on the cost of the millet to the consumer. In the latter case consumers will either suffer from increased cost to a staple food or will avoid the new product causing the deficiency to be a continuing problem.

There is a possibility that consumers will eschew the new strand of millet for another reason - taste. The recommendation fails to provide evidence that the engineered millet tastes the same and is just as combatable with other staple foods in Tagus. If it turns out that the engineered food does not meet the quality of the original form of millet, then the consumers will most likely elect the standard and ignore the health benefits of the engineered version, again leaving the vitamin A deficiency a continuing problem and costing the impoverished nation of Tagus a lot of unnecessary money.

In conclusion the recommendation to switch to the engineered strand of millet is incomplete without answering several key questions. If the vitamin A deficiency reveals itself to not be malign, the government is unable to cover the costs of the new strand, or the new strand of millet fails to entice consumers, the the recommendation completely unravels and is unjustified. Until the answers to these questions are known and included in a future recommendation, the Tagus should look for other alternatives or other issues to focus on and combat.