The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition

Identifying the ideal characteristics for strong leadership is always an arduous task. Two main juxtaposing qualities that are repeated highlighted are cooperation and competitiveness.

Since competitiveness is so highly regarded and considered the road to success, some people may argue that a sense of competitiveness should be instilled into the youth. Given this key, they hope that they somehow find their way to the top and be prepared to be effective leaders. However, this is not the case. Societies instead should teach cooperation to the youth to prepare them to become effective leaders. Throughout people figures and leaders that we heard about everyday, it is their cooperation that shines as their main successful quality.

The most obvious example is in our leaders in professional sports. While every single professional athlete is extremely competitive, they all require an extreme amount of cooperation into order to reach the top of their field. This is especially true in team sports. For instance, in football the leader of the offence, the quarterback, needs to be in communication with the entire team and needs to make the decisions or follow through with the coach’s decisions that will best benefit the team as a whole, even if he is hesitant. If cooperation is instilled in this player, he will effectively share the ball and plays, but if he mainly only possesses competitiveness he is prone to making selfish mistakes and will ultimately make a weak team leader.

A further example where cooperation outshines competitiveness is in government. In a democratic government, especially if it is a two party system, compromise is the only key to success. Without it, the system will forever be in a stalemate, rendering process as impossible and leading to ineffective governing. If the leaders in government are mainly taught to be competitive, they would only push forward their agenda without communicating about the needs of other representatives, which in the long run would hurt their own voters.

Finally a less obvious yet very prominent example is in industry. In the free market competitiveness is thought to be the driving factor behind a successful company. A competitive company is able to put itself forward and take control of the market, bringing unlimited profits to its leaders and shareholders. Although this is the common belief, its is not true. In reality companies need to partner with each other to bring up the whole market and profit together. For example, as computers were reaching market, the technology to develop them and make them a consumer product needed to be shared and researched by a wide group of scientists. Without this collaboration and communication between different teams, innovation would be slow and the consumer would suffer. The world would not be this connected if these teams mainly possessed a competitive spirt and did not have any cooperation.

Overall, although competitiveness is highlighted as an exceptional quality leading to effective leadership and success, it is cooperation that is the backbone of success and so must be taught to the youth. It is through cooperation that together we grow as a society.