The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station."Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the comp

The memorandum from the business manager of the television station links the shift from weather and local news to national news during late night programing to the decrease in viewership and advertising revenue. Although at first glance this the manager's message seems sound, an analysis of the issue reveals that the connection is riddled with assumption and holes. In order for the television station to justifiably follow through with this recommendation, several further pieces of evidience are necessary.

The first point of analysis is on the source of the complaints they are recieving. In the statement, it seems as if the angered complaints they are recieving are from the entire viewer base, or a sample that represents the whole. However, this can easily not be the case and instead be a select few of viewers that are especially annoyed at the change in programming. These people could be acquantancies to the local newscaster or weather enthusiast who are making repeated requests to the station to return to their original time slots. This is especially true if the steps in order to file a complaint are long or confusing, since only passionate members of their viewership would go through the process of contacting the station. In order to accurately determine if the increased time to national news is disgruntling its bases, the station must conduct a blind survey of all its viewership to get a represenative sample, and not just depend on data that in actively submitted to them.

Another point that is not addressed in the manager's message is if viewership as accually decreased. There is no established link between the complaints and decrease in viewership in the memorandum, so making such as claim that reverting the time slots would increase viewship is irresponsible. Analysis of viewership trends must be conducted to see in which direction viewshop is headed. If viewership has increased, then the manager's recommendation is invalid. If viewership has decreased, then even further analysis is needed to validate the recommendation. Questions such as is their a waning interest in news overall, or who is their late night news demographic must be answered first before any action is taken. If for example it is found that while viewership has decreased, it is the younger generation that watches their late night programs and they have started to shift towards eschewing the news, then even decresed views does not mean there is a problem with their programming.

Finally their is still a darth of evidence to validate the manager's claim about advertising. When concidering advertising revenues, the manager fails to discuss the trends in national program advertising. If their has been an increase in revenue from their national news, then there is no concern about the programming from a fiscal standpoint. If however they do discover that their has been a loss from advertising revenue explicitly from local businesses terminating their contracts, there is still insufficient evidence in inculpating their change in programs. There would need to direct evidence that local buisnesses have pulled out because of the change in programming and not because television is no longer their main avenue of marketing. The television station could discover that local buisness are favoring using different strategies such as an aggressive social media campaign and the change in late night broadcasting may be irrelevant.

Overall the recommendation by the manager is filled with assumptions and unanswered questions. More evidence must be collected beforer the station adopts this recommendation.