The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition

The ideal leader is difficult to define. Depending on who you ask you may get different characterisitcs highlighted, such as being tough on crime or being magnanimous. For whatever characteristic is lauded, it is important for a society to begin to teach these traits to their youth and prepare them to become their version of the best leader possible. Two seemingly oppostites traits that a society must choose to push teach is cooperation or competition. After careful concideration it can be understood that cooperation should be prioritized but not taught alone.

If we look back at history many of our heros are lauded for competitive nature that pushed them to the top of the field. Take for example recent leaders such as President Clinton, Bill Gates, or even Tom Brady. All three of these men had such a competitive spirt, that they forcefully made their way to the top overcoming econmical, technical, and atheletic challenges. At first glance all their success and fame can be attributed to competition, but these men were seen as ideal leaders not because they were at the top, but because they remained at the top as effective leaders practicing cooperation.

The most obvious example of cooperation in the three is Tom Brady. As the quaterback of the Patriots, Tom Brady headed numerous versions of the most powerful offences the NFL had seen. He always maintained a never give up competative edge, but underneath it all was a great sense of cooperation. Brady himself could not lift the Patriots to multiple Super Bowl victories but needed the help of his surrounding teammates. If Brady primarily posseed only a competitve edge, then he would prioritize his own stats and apperance over actually winning the games. Like many great team sports athletes, Brady needed to have great trust in other players to repeatedly win, which only could come through a greater sense of cooperation than competition.

Similar to sports, government is another area where cooperation in the underlying factor that makes effective leaders. Initially it may make sense that voters would want a representative that is competitive and prioritizes what his district or country feels is best. However if every representative acted in this way, there would be no progress in government harming all parties involved. For example if Bill Clinton continually only put America first and was unwilling to cooperate with foreign nations or opposing members of congress, then his presidency would have nothing to show for it. Fortunatly this was not the case and Clinton was able to demonstate continual cooperation in cases such as NAFTA that helped increase trade in North America.

In conclusion it is understandable to first believe competition would foster the best leaders. However a primarily competitive edge would not be condusive towards longevity and could continually hurt the followers as long as that leader is in power. In order to have an effective leader that remains effective it is important for a society to instill a sense of cooperation into their youth while also not dimishing their competitive spirt. It is competitiveness that makes leaders but it is cooperation that engenders continual success and benefits the most members of the society.