A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position

The American education system and revisions to it is a hot current topic. Although it is often recognized that the standard of education in America is falling behind to many other countries, there are large disagreements on the revisions that should be made, especially when concidering governmental spending. One major change that could occur to not only the American system, but universally is the requirement for all school to install the same national curriculum until the collegiate level. Although enticing at first, an analysis of this idea's implimentation reveals that it would have stronger adverse effects to students' educational development.

Supporters of this idea would highlight it as a way of evening the playing field for all students entering college and combat differences in educational quality that depend of socioecomical factors. Their concerns over disparities between educational qualities are valid and it has been shown through many studies that students who come from higher social economic statuses has better access to higher standards of learning, which in turn, better prepares them for entering and succeeding in college. If a mandatory national curriculum were to be installed, it would ideally eliminate this factor and help lower classes advance through upward mobility.

However this vision is a utopian view. Even if a national curriculum was implemented, students of higher classes would still have access to private institutions that would prepare them with the necessary knowledge needed to advance themselves over other students. Instead of setting an even playing ground, this idea could and would put students that cannot access this private programs at a further disadvantage. This is because standardized curriculums often cater to the lowest common denominator in order to assure ever student is able to keep up with the lessons. Since this is the case, students who would usually be in higher level courses, such as in honors programs, AP classes, or specialized schools, would have to suffer in teachings that are far below their skill level, stifiling their development. This derailment of development will also effect students that are not in advanced programs, but still function at a higher level than what the national curriculum requires. As a result the large majority of the student population would not learn at their highest level, harming their development and the development of the country.

Continuing on the idea of specialized schools, the implimentation of a national curriculm would eliminate the flourishment of students with a hightened ability in a specific field such as the arts. Schools that specialize in the art would cease to exist, leaving artisitc students to suffer in standarized art courses, where they will not get the level of training they would at an arts school. This is especially true for students who rely on the public education system to develop their skills. In a normal arts porgram, that is in danger of budget cuts, the arts of the country would suffer, effecting the national culutre.

In conclusion although a national curriculm may seem like an effective method in providing all students with the same oppportunities to succeed, this is only an idealistic view and in reality a national curriculm would harm the majority of students. The idea would especially be malign to students in specialized programs, whether it be in accelerated educational programs or vocational schools such as arts school. Since so many students would suffer from such a program it would be completely irresponsible for a nation to implement a national curriculm.