People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

In many personality tests, whether it be for professional development or for entertainments, several questions are often posed in order to determine if a person either makes decisions through logic or through emotions. While these test can give a superficial understanding of which side a person can be catagorized, they do not discuss which leads to poor decision making. When considering different types of decision making paths it can be understood that people who make decisions based on emotions followed by logic are usually poor decision makers.

Examples of poor decisions driven by emotions over logical can be seen throughout history. The warnings of acting hastily due to emotions are riddled throughout tales of failures and downfalls. Even in recent history we can see this problem emerge, with the second Bush Administration. President George W. Bush, unlike father, had failed at both school and buisness, and constantly lived in the shadow of his father's successes. This toremented him during his two terms, causing him to decide to take on the challenge of Iraq that his father had never completed. This was a decision driven by his emotions and fueled by his advisors, and only after the US involvement in the area, did he search for logical reasons for engaging in conflict. The claim that they came up with that Iraq was in possession of weapons of mass destruction was completely false and as a result of emotion based decision, the US is still stuck in the Middle East and has fostered an era of further extreme terrorism. If the administration focused on logic and was not focused on trying to outdo the previous Bush Administration, the current global situation might have been avoided.

Although examples such as the Busch Administration's are spread throughout history, supporters of the opposing claim (that following emotions first does not lead to poor decision making) can highlight various aspects of our culture to support their side. For example there are commonly used phrases such as gut instinct or love at first sight, which usually indicate a correctly made decision that was driven by emotions. Although these are both commonly used positive phrases, careful consideration demonstrates that even these situations actually reflect poor decision making. Following a gut feeling can often be misguided, especially if the person is following a emotions are intuitions that rooted in irratic behavior or anxiety. The decision made at love at first sight is a completely superficial irresponsible decision that does not take into consideration compatablity and is comparable to the warning of judging a book by its cover.

In conclusion, making decisions based on emotion followed by logic leads to poor decision making. Whether it be through failures by entire branches of governments or by individuals assuming they know whats best for them, emotions alone lead down a negative path.