The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books. We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because

Less people under 10 either means an end to a baby boom or the start of a super burst according to demographic statistics. Either is true will cause at least a decade of low children percentile in general population.

Opening a café is synchronizing with Regal books while giving up Monarch’s one shop for all books advantage.

Regal may have other established advantages, such as secret coffee recipe, special sourcing from Ethiopia, or a good loyalty program.

Monarch books and Regal books are not well-defined, possible duopoly of this nation, or just 2 corner bookshop too small, too poor to be so close to each other—Only one can survive.

If Monarch and Regal are enjoying a duopoly, Monarch can’t give up any edge to this head to head competition.

As some share holder, or just a executive employee at Monarch, the board of directors can’t be stupid, and the recommendations can’t be ignored.

A very tricky information is 20-years, in demographic terms, it is a generation. From the information we have, I can guess with confidence, this nation is enduring an echo burst, population is going downhill. Nature growth is possibly negative, children won’t lead to new growth in sales.

This is a skeleton means to generate more discords.