The following is a recommendation from the personnel director to the president of Acme Publishing Company.

"Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One graduate of the course was able to read a 500-page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. Obviously, the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday. Moreover, Easy Read would cost Acme only $500 per employee—a small price to pay when you consider the benefits. Included in this fee is a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the Easy Read newsletter. Clearly, Acme would benefit greatly by requiring all of our employees to take the Easy Read course."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the passage tries to make Acme Publishing Company more successful and productive. He or she thinks that the best way of it is to accomplish the Fast Reading courses for all employees. Perhaps, the author of the text is right and it will bring a lot of profits, however, the passage has some weak points in the argumentation. Hence, in order to be sure about the decision, these shaky moments should be supported be additional evidence. Otherwise, Acme Publishing Company ventures to have considerable loss, because of ineffective spending.

First of all, the most obvious question - is so necessary to read fast? Probably, there is no any need to be a fast reader at all. Especially, considering the fact that this company is a publisher, it is quite reasonable to suppose that workers must read extremely attentive in order to notice all possible mistakes in a text. However, at the same time, fast reading allows to understand fast, but not to pay attention to mistakes in a text. Hence, the author of the passage should provide evidence that fast reading skill will advantageous in this field of work. Otherwise, it may be waste of company's resources.

The second thing that should be supported is given argumentation. The author states that one graduate can read 500 pages report in two hours. There is no doubt that is the great result, but the text does not have any information about the rest of graduates? Probably, a group of fast readers students consists of 10 people, where only one or two may develop fast reading skill considerably, but the rest cannot perform such results. Hence, the precise portfolio of this course should be provided. Moreover, the text has the mention about the one more graduate. It states that he or she promoted to vice president while the short period of time. However, it is not clearly stated that such promotion was result of the fast reading skill. Consequently, these two points should be supported by additional evidence. More accurate data will be suitable in this situation.

Even if the first two points are true, the author's conclusion is quite controversial. The author states that all workers should accomplish this course. However, this is the strange proposal, because any company has different workers with different aims and tasks. For example, the main task of accountants is to calculate, but not to read, especially fast. Consequently, the author should provide evidence that all workers should accomplish the course.

To sum up, the passage may contain some reasonable proposal, however, it should be supported by additional evidence, because the argumentation of the text has weak points. Otherwise, the company risks having ineffective spending.