The following is a recommendation from the personnel director to the president of Acme Publishing Company.

"Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One graduate of the course was able to read a 500-page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. Obviously, the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday. Moreover, Easy Read would cost Acme only $500 per employee — a small price to pay when you consider the benefits. Included in this fee is a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the Easy Read newsletter. Clearly, Acme would benefit greatly by requiring all of our employees to take the Easy Read course."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

One of the various methods in which people get exposed to knowledge is through education. I cannot agree less with the common saying that education is key. The recommendation noted that a nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college. this might be agreeable to an extent but otherwise, I disagree.

Firstly, it is agreeable that generalizing the curriculum would help ensure at least the average child is knowledgeable on his basic rules and right as a citizen. For instance, the basic curriculum would definitely contain major basic codes and conducts with the rights the citizen has thereby ensuring that everyone is knowledgeable. this instance would make the recommendation good.

this recommendation would also ensure that students receive equal levels of education which would make it easier for college faculty to select materials needed for the session. For example, there would be no need for lecturers to assume students are familiar with a topic that in actual sense, they do not know because they attended a substandard school. this example above makes the author's recommendation valid.

However, if this recommendation were accepted, the key purpose of education would be impaired. this is because the teachers would now be limited as to what they teach and then students would not be able to get other information outside the curriculum. I can also readily see certain educational programs being canceled so as not to go out of the scope of what is accepted at the national level.

Moreover, even if this recommendation is accepted, on whose decisions would the contents of the curriculum be based? is it on politicians who have little or no interest in their nation and can readily change the curriculum based on what they feel is right and not what is needed? or on the legislatives who have little or no knowledge about the entire curriculum needed for education.

In addition, having a generalized curriculum would bring about a stop to certain language subjects included at different states to promote their laguage. For instance, some schools in the south that teach southern languages and its core values would be prevented as a result so as not to go out of scope.

In conclusion, it is agreeable that this recommendation would ensure that the average citizen knows its right and core values however, it is a major impairment to education.