The following report appeared in the newsletter of the West Meria Public Health Council.

"An innovative treatment has come to our attention that promises to significantly reduce absenteeism in our schools and workplaces. A study reports that in nearby East Meria, where fish consumption is very high, people visit the doctor only once or twice per year for the treatment of colds. Clearly, eating a substantial amount of fish can prevent colds. Since colds represent the most frequently given reason for absences from school and work, we recommend the daily use of Ichthaid — a nutritional supplement derived from fish oil — as a good way to prevent colds and lower absenteeism."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

A report has appeared in the newsletter of the West Meria Public Health Council which suggests that the citizens of West Meria should increase the consumption of fish and fish based products in their diet. The report states that the main cause of absenteeism at school or work in West Meria is cold. The arguer cites that citizens of East Meria consume a very high amount of fish, and hence visit a doctor only once or twice for cold related health issues. As a result, the arguer suggests that citizens of West Meria should also increase fish consumption. The arguer's suggestion as well as the evidences provided seem legible during the first read, although a closer look might unearth a few alternate possibilities which might undermine the arguer's final conclusion.

Firstly, the arguer states that the primary reason for absenteeism in schools and work places in West Meria is due to people suffering from cold. The arguer fails to provide the source for such an information and is the source credible? What if the study conducted by the arguer has errors in it? What if the the people use cold as an excuse to flunk school or work? If such a case holds true, the credibility of the arguer's information would be certainly undermined. It could be possible that the most prominent illness in West Meria is something else. As a result, it would be ideal, if a thorough study is conducted to ascertain if cold is really the main cause of illness in West Meria.

Secondly, the arguer seems to attribute the low number of doctor's visit by the people of East Meria to lower cases of people suffering from cold. This correlation is baseless and does not appear to be valid. Just because people of East Meria visit the doctor only once or twice for cold related issues does not necessarily mean that they fall sick only twice. It could be possible that the people of East Meria believe in home remedies and visit the doctor in case of severe cold issues only. This could mean that eating fish does not abate the cases of cold encountered by the people of East Meria, owing to which, encouraging the people of West Meria to eat fish might not give the arguer his desired results.

Lastly, the arguer encourages the people of West Meria to consume Ichthaid, a nutritional supplement derived from fish oil. The arguer seems confident that eating such medicines would increase people's resistance against cold. It could be possible that the nutritional supplement suggested by the arguer works, but there seems to be no proof of a study or a report which suggests that the supplement works in the way it is meant to. Moreover, a question might arise among the citizens of West Meria regarding the safety of consuming such a supplement, whether the supplement is authorized by the health department to be used in order to increase resistance to cold. If the medicine fails to work in its desired way, it could cause detrimental effects on a person's health and seriously undermine the arguer's position.

In sum, the arguer's treatment of cold seems to be dubious and erroneous. There are many alternate possibilities that prove the arguer's conclusion to be fallacious. As a result, it cannot be categorically stated if consuming an increased amount of fish will help in preventing cold among the citizens of West Meria.