The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered I n order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation

The argument recommends that due to lack of awareness among the public that movies of good quality are available, Super Screen should, therefore, allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising. To support this recommendation the advertising director of the Production Company reveals the examples of leap faith and poor reasoning. Also, it fails to mention several key factors by which it could be evaluated. Hence the argument is unconvincing.

The major lacuna is the lack of statistics and data required to justify the recent report from the marketing department. Fewer people refer to what number of people from the population that regularly watches movies. Also, there is no mention of any data of the other past years as well, which can be used to compare the data for the given report. An accurate survey should cover the big and wide range of case studies to be valid and actual.

Second, another argument is that the phrase “percentage of positive reviews” represents people from what age group, whether the reviewers are frequent movie watchers or occasional ones. Also, there is no mention of the types of movies released, to which this specific memo refers to. Whether this memo belongs to theatrical, drama, fictional, non-fictional, romantic, comedy or any other domain.

Third, it is preposterous to come to this conclusion that super Screen should allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising. It is a post-hoc fallacy that since the people lack awareness that movies of good quality are available, therefore they should allocate a greater share of their budget on advertising. But this is vague. Firstly, how can one conclude that the movies are actually of good quality, despite the improper data mentioned above? Secondly, there can be other reasons for why the public is not watching such movies. Maybe the month, in which the movies are being released, is February, which mainly focuses on romantic movies since it is considered to be Valentine's month. Also according to one of the recent statistics stated in an article in Hindustan Times, movie halls are flooded with younger generation during the month of February.

All in all, the argument is flawed for the reasons mentioned and is, therefore, unpersuasive. It could considerably be strengthened if proper evidence is given with accurate statistics related to the survey, other alternatives are being considered, proper conclusion are being stated and clearly mentioning the data related to the types of movies released, age group of the reviewers, actions taken for improvement etcetera.