The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

“According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Clearly the assumption of review contents not reaching to public is not true. As it is stated that numner of people watching movies produced by Super movies company is decreased in past year and the positive reviews increased contrastly, there is no relation to assume that positive reviews not reaching pub;ic might have decreased number of people watching.

The report should have also taken the data about the kind of movies that has positive reviews and the kind of movies which has negative or no review at all. This would allow us to analyse the type of movies people are liking and not liking. There is also a possibility that the genre or quality of movies produced by Super Screen Movie Production Company differed in past year, which led to decrease in number of people watching movies.

The conclusion that spending greater share of budget to publicity by advertising will increase in number of viewers is not guaranted. As the decrease in number of people watching movies in theaters might not be related to publicity, but might be beacuse of other reasons like increase in number of DVD's and CD's which have increased in past year. Another reason could be increase in price of movie ticket which might resisted most of the people coming to theatre.

The positive reviews in given report might be fake and has nothing to do with the quaity of movies. Hence relying on few positive reviews, cant be taken as fact and concluding that the number of quality movies increased.

By throughgoing all above statements, Super Screen Movie Production Company need to decide where to put the greater budget in so that number of viewers will be increased.