The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The advertising director of Super Screen Movie Production Company argued that though their number of viewers are on decline but it is due to lack of advertising rather than the quality of their movie. He further argued that a greater share of budget should be allocated next year to reach the public to increase more awareness. Althoug the argument may sound very persuasive but it is based on several faulty assumtions and have a many questions unanswered.

Firstly, the author said that the positive review by the movie reviewer about specific Super Screen movies has increased. While that might be true, but the amount of the reviewers are not specified here. It is possible that the reviewers has recently been aware of those movies thus the recent increase in review has occured. Moreover the quantity of percentage increase is not stated clearly here. Also, the amount of the movie they have reviewed is not specified here. It is possible that the reviewers might have seen only a few selection of movie out of large number of movie that the production company make. Thus the increase in review does not actually indicate the actual amount of good quality movies. This questions need to be answered before making the reviews as a decision making point.

Secondly, based on the number of reviews the author concluded that the problem is not within their movie content but due to lack of publicity. Here the assumption is that the review is not reaching more audience. It is possible that the reviewers are online movie reviewers and the reviews are reaching to large number of people. Without knowing these facts it should not be assumed that the reviwes are not reaching far enoug to prospective viewers. As an art form, different genre of movie attracts defferent lot of people. It is possible that the movies that are the production company is making is not appealing any new viewers and not because of the people don't know about them. This facts are not absent here.

Furthermore, the author concluded that the decline of viewers are due to the lack of public awareness, not the quality of the movie. That might be true, but it does not answer are vital question. Are the movies of similar type? People loose interest very fast in similar kind of movies if viewed for a long time. It is possible that although the quality of the production and movie are as good as always but their content has become very banal. Thus the people in general has lost their interest in the movies from that production house. And if this is the reason then increasing the budget of advertising will not help to increase the number of viewers.

Although advertising can reach a wide number of people and raise the awareness about the movies from the production house, but before investing more on advertisement, it is required to be more sure about the quality and types of movie from the production house. It will not be wise to take a decision about spending a large amount of money based on a unspecified amount of reviews reviews from an unspecified number of reviewers.