"The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The recommendation as prescribed in the memo by the advertising director to allocate a greater sum of money for ut the public so as to increase the revenue seems quite apt in certain scenarios but whould fail to convince one as the argument that has been given to justify this recommendation lacks on various grounds. Thus, one can easily cast doubt on various aspects in the argument which needs to be addressed to ensure the concrete base for the recommendation.The argument as presented seems to lack enough proofs in the form of qualitative or quantitative figures and is more of a collection of blatant claims which can be rejected outrightly.

In the opening statement of the memo , as claimed by the director about fewer people attending the movies as compared to past years seems quite incomplete as no further information has been provided to compliment this information so that a conclusion can be made from such a claim . This decrease in people may be due to various reasons like due to relatively greater immigration of the people last year because of greater concerns regarding the safety or can also be the case that the people are not aware enough about the movies despite of the reviews made which is assumed in the argument . Moreover, the area in which these movie theaters are located and the region from where these reviews have been collected is assumed to be the same which may not be the case and such concern of scope of the argument should be taken care off.

The reasoning provided that the problem doesnot lie with the quality of the movies is based on the assumption that the reviews made are genuine enough to be considered for accessing the quality of the movies which may not be the case at the first place and it may happen that these reviews may be paid or corrupted .So,this reasoning can be easily flaked away if ignored. Also,if it is true that the awareness about movies in the public is lacking then this recommendation provided is quite apt but in case if it is not then the recommendation will only lead to wastage of money. Alas,the decrease in the people viewing the movies may also be due to a certain bigger event that took place last year like a natural calamity which has not been addressed inthis argument.Thus representing a narrow view of the director in this memorandum.

So in assessing this argument. I would suggest that the argument should be redressed so as to cover all the aspects which are ignored inthe present statement otherwise the argument may fall apart as soon as it is presented.With the above suggestions the argument and the resoning will get firm grrounds to stand on which surely would help on eto evaluate the argument .