"The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument for providing a greater share for advertising the Super Screen- produced movies lacks a certain amount to information. It clearly does not provide enough details required to decide if the conclusion is correct.

The author has mentioned that there was a decrease in the people who have attended the Super Screen produced movies. But he has not supplied with the information of how much decrease is found. There is also a question if there is an increase in viewership of other produced movies. As a specific conclusion can't be drawn without making comparison with other movies released that year.

In addition, the release date of the movie is not given as it would help in determining if there were any other popular events like music concerts or any other great movie releasing at the same time. If there is any great movie with superstars released, people tend to show interest at that corner. There is no abundant information about the cast of the movies provided. This would be a deciding factor as very few people would watch debutant actors. The Season in which the movie is released also plays the main role. For Example, people tend to go on tours during the holiday season. If the movie releases at that time it may receive less attention as compared to other movies.

Considering the increase in positive movie reviews received for the movies it cannot be a reason to say if a movie is good or watchable. There may be a chance that the movie reviewers were made to give good reviews to increase the viewership of the movies. It can't be taken as a deciding factor to state that the content is not reaching their prospective viewers. People may not have liked the content to go and watch it the theatres. Also, the number of people it has reached is not known so it is a false note to mention the reach of a few people.

By the following reasons and questions raised, it can be concluded that there could be a lot more information required to decide the reason for the decrease in the people attending Super Screen produced movies. So, it would not be a great idea to allocate more budget for advertising the movies.