The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

“According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable.

Be sure to explain how the answers to these

The following argument is flawed for numerous reasons. Primarily, it is based on the unwarranted assumption that, if public would have been aware about the good quality movies available, they would attend the Super-Screen produced movies, rendering its main conclusion that, Super Screen should allocate a great share of its budget next year for reaching the public through advertising, invalid.

Firstly, the writer mentions about a recent report from its marketing department, addressesing the issue that fewer people attended Super Screen- produced movies, during the past year, than in any other year. The argument leaves many unanswered questions. What was the recent report's primary concern? How many questions in the report included questions regarding the Super Screen movies? Does the report take into account the population change during the past years and then came to that conclusion? Had the argument provided answers to the above questions, even then, the argument further needs to consider the primary reason for the decline.

Additionally, the argument claims without evidence about the increase in percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers, about specific Super Screen movies. Here, the writer fails to acknowledge the fact that, the percentage of positive reviews many have increased as the viewers with negative reviews would have already stopped attending those movies. Alongwith this, there may have been a less number of viewers commenting about their reviews in the past years than in the last year. Or the past movies would have been less interesting than the latest one.

To further prove his point, he assumes that the contents of these reviews are not reaching the prospective audience, hence, causing the decline of viewers. There has been no evidence, proving this case. Furthermore, he concludes that the problem lies not with the quality of movies but with the public's lack of awareness, regarding the availablity of good quality movies. The arguement is still lacking, as the author fails to justifies how the quality of movies produced last year was good, or better than previous years. Also, without addressing the public, how he concluded that the primary reason is lack of awarness. The viewers might be aware about the recent movie availability, like they were in the past few years. It is possible that the quality of the movie is the reason for viewers aversions towards those movies, and hence, resulted in the decline.

In sum, the author has failed to make a convincing argument because of lack of statistical data and unwarranted assumptions. The argument would have been strengthened, had the author provided evidence regarding the facts like, percentage of populace change, reason for increase in positive reviews, quality of movies produced, etcetera.