The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the super screen movie production company.

“According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended super screen produces movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public‘s lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super screen should therefore allocated a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

From the memo, it was recomended that Super screen should alloctae a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising. The recommendations was made because of the lack of awareness by potential viewers that super screen could produce a good quality movies. Therfore, in other to adequately evaluate the effectiveness of this recommendation, two questions needs to be answered.

Firstly, can we assume that last year performance is equal to other years? the recomendation was based on the fact that last year performance and this could be a different scenario in other years. For instance, some viwers might have young children this year and might decided to switch to a movies that teach thier children on how to live as a children. In answering this question, the author needs to provide a compelling evidence to ascertain the assumption that the performance of this year would be the same with subsequent years.

Secondly, is not watching a movie equates to lack of awareness?. the author assumes that potential viewers not watching the superscreen movies lack awareness about the superscreen could produce a good quaity movie. For inatnce, a person could give preference to football which could be the same time at which the movie is been casted. in answering this question, the author must provide a cogent and compelling evidence to surport this assumption.

In conclusion, the recomendation as it stands now, is flawed due to reliance on several unwaranted assumptions. The author should provide a convincing, compelling and adequate evidences in other to improve the quality and thus making the argument more effective.