The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument lays on the premise that content of the positive reviews are not reaching the general public and that advertisement would help reduce this gap. However, certain questions would need to be asked before the recomendation of increasing the budget of advertisements should be acted upon.

The author mentions that the number of people who attended the movies decreased. However, the causes of this happening could be varied. For example, did the price of the movie ticket increase? Other factors that need consideration for this reduction include the timing during which the shows aired- for example, a show screened at night would attract more audiences than one screened during noon. Similarly, were there enough shows during holidays, and did they release during inopportune times of the year.

The author also mentions that the percentage of positive reviews for specific movies increased. However, it is not known whether movies by other production houses had a much higher rating than the ones by Super Screen Movie Production Company. Similarly, we do not know whether the specific movies which were reviewed positively, did in fact do better off than movies which didn't have positive reviews.

An important question that needs to be asked is whether it is in fact the lack of awareness that good quality movies exist, that is leading to the problem of fewer audiences. Perhaps the company could poll and check whether or not awareness, by itself exists of these movies- or is it that the public is not interested in watching the kinds of movies that the Production company is producing and airing. Additionally, would advertising really help reach the intended audience, is a question that's worth exploring- if it doesn't, there is no point in allocating a greater budget.

In sum, the company would benefit more if it polls other factors that could have lead to a reduction in attendance, including the interest of the audience in the movies it produces.