The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."Based on a survey conducted by their own marketing department and certain comments by some reviewers, the director made flawed reasoning and drew unconvincing conclusions about the problems responsible for their shrinking market.

At first glance the argument proffered by the memo seems reasoanable. The advertisement should command for greater share of the budget in the next fiscal year. However the author relies on several unproven assumptions and as such its doubtful that increasing the advertisement budget will have the desired effect.

The argument suggests that since fewer people are attending Super Screen produced movies, the fault lies with advertising the movie. It might be very well possible that attendance of movie goers is down in general. With the advent of entertainment mediums such as Netflix and Hulu, movie goers numbers is down in general. There is no information about competitive movie production companies attendance numbers to back up the increase in the advertising budget.

The argument brings about the increase in positive reviews of the movie as an evidence. Though this a good indicator about the quality of the movie it might not necessairly draw out crowds. Movie reviewers tend to showers praise on a critical movie on a dense subject, such movies may draw out crowds to the threater despite positive reviews. What if the movie catalog of next year was full of such movies and not a single crowd pleaser? Increasing the advertisement budget in such case won't affect the number of people attending the movie.

Also there is no information regarding how the contents of these reviews will be promulgated to the public. If the reviewers share the movie review long after the movie is out of the cinema then Super Screen advertising wouldn't be of much help. This startegy might be back fire as well with people accusing the Production company of colluding with the movie reviewers.

Given that we don't know answers of these pressing questions, the argument goes beyond the available data in assuming advertisement budget increase in next fiscal year will increase the number of people attending the movie.