The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super

Screen Movie Production Company.

“According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past

year, fewer people attended Super Screen–produced movies than in any other

year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about

specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the

contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers.

Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public’s

lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should

therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public

through advertising

The argument above can be strengthened or weakened if further information was given about the following:

More information about how the marketing department came by their report is needed to further strengthen or weaken the argument. If the report was gotten from observing the total amount of sales made that year then the argument will be further strengthened. However, the marketing department could have given the report based on just one month observation. It would be wrong to draw conclusions based on this.

Also, the decline in the number of people that attended the super screen produced movies could be due to increase in number of home viewers. The reason for the decline should be further investigated. If it's because people are more satisfied watching the movie in the comfort of their home and with their family then the argument above is further weakened. This could mean improving on the attractiveness of the movie viewing centre can help the number of attendees.

However, drawing conclusion that the content is not reaching prospective viewers would be faulted if people are actually watching from there houses. This could even be the reason for increase in positive reviews.

Although, increase in the positive reviews could be as a result of few people giving many positive reviews or large number of people giving their reviews each. We never can tell if the increase is because of home viewers or cause of this.

In addition, the decline in attendee could be because people prioritised what they had to do and watching ba movie was not top on the list. It could also be that the set of people who attend the movie are now more employed and don't have luxury not time has they once had in times past. Drawing conclusion that the people are not aware of the good quality of the movie would be weakened in this case.

Allocating greater share of budget in the next year could be a great move. However more information ishould be sought out to know if poor advertisement is the reason for decline in attendance if People are fully aware but still remain occupied the extra funding for advertisement could be a waste.

In conclusion, to increase budget for advertisement may mean reduction in the budget for other essentials like movie quality. This would further harm the initial reason for increase of advertising budget.