The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Quiot Manufacturing.“During the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that signifcant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Quiot and thereby increase productivity, we should shorten each of our three work shifts by one hour so that employees will get adequate amounts of sleep.”

Comparing the Quoit manufacturing with the nearby Panoply industry is actually a very good thing to do. It means the Quoit are checking out for the progress rate. However the assumption made by the vice president of the Quoit manufacturing industry can be further strengthened or weakend if the points listed below is well considered

The argument stated that they quit manufacturing had 30% more on jobs accidents done the panoply industry. However the assumption is not representative enough. Comparison should be made with several other industries in order to further strengthen the assumption made. It could be that the panoply industry had covered up the real number to protect the integrity of their industry. Relying on their number will therefore weaken the options made.

Aside from not being representative, assuming that reduction of work shift hours will bring about lesser accident might not be totally true. Further investigations has to be made on the workers to know if they are battling with personal issues that causes distractions while working. It could even be that the salary been paid does not do proper Justice to the expenditure and this makes them give less of their best to what they do, there by, increasing on job accident rates.

In addition to the above stated points, assuming that a one-hour reduction in the work shifts will bring about adequate amount of sleep will be for the weakend if the employees don't eventually get to sleep. Some may see it as an opportunity to take on more menial jobs to boost their income. So may take it as a time to chat and visit with friends. Therefore, the assumptions will only be warranted if there is a way of ensuring that the extra one hour provided will be added to their sleeping hours.

Reducing the number of job hours might not necessarily increase productivity. Assuming this will be unwarranted for if they on job accident is not the cause of the present level of productivity of the company. Other investigations has to be made to know the other things that has not allowed for increased productivity. it could be due to wear out of the machines used for storage conditions and so many other reasons.

Finally, concluding that the reduction in the shift hours would bring about an increased productivity and a reduction in the number of her job as dense will be proven warranted if the industry can further investigate the personal lives of the employees compared their results with many other industries with similar working conditions check out for other reasons why the productivity may not be increasing.