Knowing about the past cannot help people make important decision about today

As much as I would love to agree with the statement "knowing about the past cannot help people make important decisions today", I would only do so partially. This statement is highly contextual and below, I would make you understand when the statement would be true and when it won't hold waters.

There are situations we find ourselves in life that we need to utilise our padt. Be it our mistakes or right actions. Imagine a man who in times past was duped because he had paucity of information about a particular Agricultural business he ventured into. After the bad experience,the man decided to study further in Agricultural businesses. This shows that the man gained more knowledge through his past mistake.

Considering the situation stated above, the man decided to venture into the business once again. After a while,he met some people who wants to take advantage of him. As a wise man, he simply looks at them and tells himself "never again". He made a vow never to fall into such trap again. This scenario made us know that sometimes your past can help you make better decisions today.

However, some situations will warrant that you don't dwell on your past in order to forge ahead in your present bringing about a better future. Take for example a lady who was once raped and maltreated by her uncle for several years before she finally gained freedom. A time came in her life when she got married. After this, she is expected to enjoy conjugal bliss but unfortunately she deprived herself of this. Instead of enjoying her marriage, she kept remembering her past. This took a toll on her present relationship with her husband. For her to make sound and importance decision today of fully accepting her husband's love, she has to let go of her past.

Therefore, the ability of a man to take his past as a lesson and use it to make way for a better present and brighter tomorrow is dependent on the individual involved. It's a matter of choice to allow your past debar you from making better decisions today or to push you to making the best decision today.

In conclusion, the statement " knowing about the past cannot help people make decision about today" is highly contextual. It should therefore be considered with respect to the situation at hand.