The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the super screen movie production company

The amount of people attending Super Screen-produced movies has significantly decreased in the last year. Yet the number of positive reviews have increased. This is attributed to the fact that the general public is not aware of the movies being released. It assumes that the reach is not wide enough. Other factors such as pricing of the movie tickets, timings, availability and accessibility have not been mentioned at all. If the price has been increased then people have to think twice about spending their money. If the timings vary such that they are not shown during peak hours, could also have affected the number of people attending. The locations of movie theatres in which they are being screened is also an additional factor contributing to it.

In recent times, there has been a surge of streaming services available at affordable pricing. A lot of people are inclined to this as it allows viewing of movies from the comfort of their own home. It eliminates the hassle of booking tickets, travelling to the theatre and spending extra money on snacks. This is also a major external factor that has to be taken into consideration if the advice is to be heeded.

It is also implied that the quality of the movies is not at stake and puts the onus on the lack of public awareness. It is true that regular advertising methods such as billboards have now become peripheral. Since people spend a lot of their time on social media, the new wave of digital advertising has become more effective. People are exposed to the content more frequently.

There is no conclusive evidence presented that their movies would attract larger audiences if more of the budget is allocated to advertising. It depends on the means they are using to advertise. Reports based on movies performances which have done considerable advertising on different platforms should be requested which will give them a better view of the picture and help take the best approach.