⦁ Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade averages at Omega have risen by 30 percent. Potential employers, looking at this dramatic rise in grades, believe that grades at Omega are inflated and do not accurately reflect student achievement; as a result, Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors.

⦁ Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

From the above arguments it is concluded that the only reason students from Omega University are not able to secure jobs is because their grades are beleived to be inflated. It is observed that the professors began assigning higher grades to the students in hopes that they will receive a better evaluation from their students. But grades are not the only thing that are looked over before concluding whether that person is fit for the job or not.

When graduates from Omega University are compared to students from Alpha University, it is seen that students from the latter have a higher percentage of securing a job than the former. This assumes that all Alpha professors are completely honest in their grading the students academic performance. And also overlooks the other angles that may be in favour of Alpha University such as better reputation, more experienced teaching faculty, Interactive student sessions, cultural diversity, promoting social connections between the students, better athletic coaching and facilities etc. that have not been compared or even mentioned.

It is also assumed that while hiring, only a student's grades are considered. It does not bring up any other perspectives such as Internships, communication skills, credits for community service, exposure to the field etc. which are also important in the hiring process. For example if a student excels in academics but fails to express themselves during the job interview, they are more likely to not be hired. But if a student has average grades yet they were able to articulate their thoughts and express themselves meaningfully while displaying their control over the skills they have gained, it is more than likely that the company will hire them.

So the argument that Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors in order to help them secure jobs, is flawed. There needs to be more concrete evidence to prove that the relationship between the two that is made on the assumptions above is true and which will help us evaluate the argument more effectively.