Some people believe that the most important qualities of an effective teacher are understanding and empathy. Others believe that it is more important for teachers to be rigorous and demanding in their expectations for students

"Students are the future of the nation" said Dr.A.P.J Abdul Kalam. It is true that the children of today will become leaders of tomorrow. So for a brighter future, it is necessary to shape the minds of today's youth. A teacher one of the first adults, excluding family, children are introduced to which have an influence on them. I agree that for a teacher, understanding and empathy must be of paramount importance for two reasons.

We imbibe the beliefs of what we are exposed to at an early age, when our brain is still developing. For instance, as infants we slowly pick up the language that is spoken around us which will later be used to communicate with others. Children not only observe the mannerisms of their parents or siblings but also mimic them which suggests that they are capable of processing their surroundings and are able to replicate them. Hence if students are subjected to rigid behaviour they learn to imitate it and are bound to display it again later.

Since students of a young age are still naive and impressionable, it is important that they are met with teachers who are more understanding and empathetic. Let's say a student was having trouble trying to cope with his peers. To get to the root of the cause, he must be able to trust the teacher and approach them. As acknowledgement is the first step, they can now start work on finding the solutions to help him improve.

If teachers are stringent and demanding it will create a fear in the minds of students. This fear is debilitating and will eat them up before they try to face it and will affect the students on a psychological level. This type of surroundings won't help but will actually hinder their progess in the long term. They will also grow up with the same mindset. Rigid in their thought process and not amenable to different perspectives.

So qualities like empathy and understanding must be intrinsic to the teachers rather than being rigorous and demanding if we want a fruitful future.