The following is a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of video rental stores.

"In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore's ten video rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6 pm rather than 9 pm and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago. Therefore, in order to increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices, we recommend implementing similar changes in our other nine Movies Galore stores"

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate recommendation

The video rental stores have been experiencing a steady decline in their profits and are seeking ways to countereffect it by reducing their operating expenses. Changes were made to one of their stores and it is recommended that the remaining ones follow suit. It assumes that just because it was successful in one event, it will yield the same results with the others as well. I will explore the other assumptions that it is based on below.

Changes included minimizing their working hours and wrapping it up by 6 pm rather than 9 pm which will result in them saving up on the electricity expense as well as upkeep of the store. But it's not the case that it will be productive in the other areas. For instance, a city's crowd is only seen bustling outside on the streets late in the evening as everybody will be done with their schools or work. This would be the time that stores attract more visitors. So to close the store during peak hours when sales are the highest will result in a deficit. The benefits of increasing the sales numbers will far outweigh the savings made by cutting down electricity expenses.

The store in downtown also got rid of all the movies which were released more than five years ago. This would suggest that the local crowd is more into newer films. But that may not be the case everywhere. Let's say there is a store which is situated in an area with a lot of older people who usually prefer vintage movies. It would make more sense to keep them rather than replace all of them with the latest ones. And five years is not a lot of time so there will also be young adults who would like to revisit movies that they enjoyed in their teens.

The evidence provided is not sufficient enough to make sure that the implemented measures would yield the predicted result. More conclusive evidence which is based on the local demographic areas, instead of just one instance, should be required for it to be more accurate.