Some people believe the corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Corporations are not sole entities but amalgamation of people working in various sectors whose decisions not only affect the target demographic but also a large amount of people out of that scope. It would be rather presumptuous to assume that the only responsibility of a corporation would be to acquire as much money as possible. I mostly agree with the first stance in the prompt due to following reasons.

For a corporation to be successful it has to depend on a multitude of factors which include humans, machines, and resources. This has a direct effect upon the society where the corporation has been established. For instance, a huge clothing retailer opens shop in a city. The residents will take a look and if found to their liking, will buy their products contributing to the profits that this company makes. As this gains traction, people's sense of aeshetic will start to shift based on what products are being promoted by such a reputable store. If it promotes body hugging type of clothes then it is sure to exacerbate the feelings of people who are already insecure. Thereby having a discernible effect on that society's well being.

The effects a corporation has on the environment is conspicuous. For example if the waste generated is not disposed of properly, it will lead to the contamination of the nearby natural resources. And the more acquisitive a corparation is the harder it will become to put an end to such malpractices as they will have leverage over the situation. We know that legal processes take due time, it will become harder to tackle the problem and find a viable solution. The resources will constantly be depleted in the meantime just to aggrandize the aforementioned corporation.

The corporations only goal should not be to acquire as much money as possible as that goal is exploitative in nature. It only makes the rich man richer and the poor man poorer. We see this happen all the time when big corporations who make millions in profit only do so because they have sweatshops set up around the world. Their excess of wealth relies on underpaid workers. These workers live in debilitating conditions for long hours at a stretch which is not moral or ethical.

I would like to conclude by saying that corporations have a responsibility to the people that they are profiting off of. Money making should be one of their goals while keeping in mind how their actions impact the society around them.