The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

The best leaders are not the ones who work singlehandedly but those who push everyone around them to work together. In the words of Dr A. P. J. Abdul Kalam, "Today's students the nation's future". Essential Leadership values such as cooperation, empathy and veracity must be instilled into children from an early age when they are still impressionable. I strongly agree with the former stance of the prompt due to the following reasons.

Humans, in general, tend to perform better when working together. They are much more efficient and productive when they are not burdened with tasks and have a network of other humans who can help them. A leader should have the ability to delegate tasks by assessing each individual's capacity to fulfil them. One person's weakness can be overcome by another person's strength. For example, a military mission is assigned to a platoon of members. The leader must know how to communicate and cooperate with the other team members to ensure that the mission is a success. Even in Government fields, leaders have the responsibility of fulfulling public's demands but this cannot be done if they do not rely on the public and cooperate with them.

Teamwork is an essential quality that one cannot gain within a matter of a few days. It has to be taught, practiced for years for one to gradually build it. In sports, a team cannot win any matches unless all the players of a team cooperate with each other and remain in sync. For instance, let's say in a game of Basketball there are five members each on two teams. If a player on a team lacks in stamina, they can depend on their teammate to cover for them until they catch up. If a player is weak in their offense, they can count on their teammates to hold the ground until its time for defense. To defeat the other team, it is necessary that everyone on this team remains on the same page, acknowledge each other's weaknesses and are willing to pull through not for one's own sake but for the team. Because even if one player gets selfish and try to improve their own stats, it will result in the downfall of the team's coordination.

A leader must not feel avaricious in any circumstances to hog all the glory. It will affect the morale of the people and eventually the results. Having a competitive outlook is good because it makes us work harder and strive for a better outcome. But promoting competitiveness in students by pitting them against each other would be detrimental to the cause as they will imbibe a complicit sense of self. And that to win any kind of means is appropriate. This will further grow into malicious intent.

So for leaders to grow in a healthy environment it is necessary that they are subjected to environments where cooperation is promoted.