⦁ A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

⦁ Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

I strongly agree with the above statement that all the students in a country should have the same curriculum until they enter college. By implementing this, it would result in a lot of positive outcomes. I am going to explain the reasons using the following examples.

All the students will have a similar level of knowledge and applied skills when they leave High School. It will be easier to gauge students capabilities given a standard reference throughout the country. It will help close the disparity among students studying in private and public educational institutions or those who have been homeschooled. Students wont have to be sent hundreds of miles away from their home to reside in hostels just to achieve the best of education. This will also ensure that every student gets the same level of education no matter which background or community they hail from.

The students are exposed to a broader scope of subjects. They can take their time deciding the right subject for them to undertake in college which will help cement their career path. Students will have the relevant skills and basic knowledge regarding the field they are likely to pursue. Since the students are subjected to various fields, it will make it easier for them to decide on a major in college. For example, let's say students are allowed to choose specialized subjects in 10th grade.They are around 15 years of age at this time and nothing can be decided for sure until they try it. So they will learn more about it in the next two years but there is also a chance that they might want to change their fields. It will result in a loss of two years as they have to undertake different subjects to specialize in, and study them again for another two years. This will also lead to a lack of confidence and affect their mental health.

Some may argue that by doing this the students waste their time instead of just choosing subjects they are interested in. But by being exposed to other subjects, it will just furthur cement the students to choose the subject they actually like and would be of use to them. So by implementing this system, we can ensure students across the country receive the same level of education and it will help them choose a major suitable for them in college.