The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

A memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company states that the budget allocated to advertising must be increased in the next year. This must be done because there is evidence that the positive reviews given by people are actually increased, but the contents of these reviews are not reaching the public due to a lack of proper advertisements. However, before this recommendation can be properly evaluated the following questions must be answered.

Firstly, are there any new production companies started in the past year? In other words, if there is any new company and their making of the movie is interesting, then people may start attracting towards it. As it is new to the market, the company may charge lower prices for the ticket to attract customers. They may be providing various facilities for mesmerizing them. This results in attracting customers to them and loss of our customers. Also, there is evidence that fewer people attended our movies than any other year. If this scenario is true, then the conclusion drawn in the argument gets weakened.

Secondly, are the reviews given by movie reviewers reasonable? It means that there are many instances where the reviews are written due to force or by bribing them. It may be possible that some corrupted people gave money and made them write reviews even though there are less people watching the movie. If the above is true, the evidence doesn't hold water.

Thirdly, is the budget allocated to advertising not sufficient in the previous years? It means that the customers started decreasing only over the past year. Previously, the customers used to watch our movies and they may be in a high number. It means that the reviews reached the public through our advertisements. Hence, it may not be due to a lack of public awareness. There may be various reasons like quality, realistic, continuity, etc. If the above is true, then the conclusion gets weakened.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the above question with proper evidence( like in a survey by public), then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the recommendation to increase the budget for advertising next year to increase the awareness in public about the quality of our movies.