The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation

In the memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company, it has been concluded that a greater share of the budget should be allocated for advertising to increase the number of viewers of their movie. However, while the conclusion might hold water, it rests on several unwarranted assumptions that, if not substantiated, dramatically weaken the persuasiveness of the argument. Thus, the following questions must be answered to make the argument more plausible.

Firstly, Are the number of movie reviewers fairly reviewed the movie? Also, is it true that the percentage of positive reviewers has increased over the time? The director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company did not provide sufficient evidence regarding the increased number of movie positive reviewers. It is possible that last year only 100 out of 1000 people came to watch movies, and say, 80%(80 out of those 100) had reviewed positively. If it is the case, then the director's recommendation is critically flawed. Instead, he should compare the percentage of last year with the percentage beyond last year's data to validate his argument.

Secondly, Increasing the budget for advertising is liable if the people are utterly disappointed with the context of the movie produced by the production company? It is possible that the vast majority of the people do not have an interest in the plot of the movie, and they are not inclined to watch those movies produced by the current production company. If the director is able to provide more evidence that his movie's plot is well enough to be likable by more people, then the effectiveness of the argument might have resulted.

Thirdly, Is the plan of allocating more budget for advertising is fruitful? The director, without compelling evidence, argues that allocating more funds for advertisement will effectively increase the number of their potential viewers, thinking that due to the paucity of advertisement of their positive response hinders the increasing number of viewers. Nevertheless, it might not be the case. Maybe another giant movie production company may have been established nearby with sophisticated picture quality in addition to the low ticket cost. If this holds true, then, the argument is significantly weakened/

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is critically flawed due to its reliance on several unfolded assumptions, as mentioned in the prior paragraphs, If the director is able to provide more compelling evidence or answer all those questions in the best possible way, then the argument will be substantially hold water.