In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is debate among people regarding the use of government funds either for new railway routes or improving the current public transport system. Some people argue for the former while others believe that the latter should be considered for the utilization of a large amount of money. This essay will discuss both sides of the argument and gives a clear opinion.

To begin, the railway is an effective means of transportation to connect two cities because of its celerity and pollution-free nature. Trains travel at higher speeds and without interruption unlike a public bus, which faces a lot of traffic jams. The railway route is far away from busy cities and that is useful for uninterrupted service. In addition, since most of the modern trains are electric and magnetic, so that the pollution will be mitigated fully. Hence, eradication of pollution along with the faster means to travel makes railway service effective.

However, Utilizing the fund for the improvement of existing public transportation like buses is another opinion that some people reckon. This viewpoint is based on the reason that the low budget will be required for the work and employment of drivers and co-drivers will not be at risk. Constructing a new train route will be far more expensive than ameliorating the present transportation because everything should be done from the onset and trains are far expensive than buses. Moreover, currently available buses will continuously provide service so that the jobs of bus staff will be imperishable.

In conclusion, some portion of individuals think that a new railway should be built from the available money, whereas another group of people has contradictory thoughts of improving the existing public transportation system. Nevertheless, in my opinion, though the small amount of money could be fruitful for making the present system better and the job opportunities of bus staffs would continue, the pollution-free system and faster and efficient service that train provides far outweighs the previous plan. Thus, the construction of railways holds water.