The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

“According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable.

Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company wants to allocate a greater budget for the advertisements of the movies based on the assessment report of last year's movies released by them. The report made by their marketing department ensured that the quality of the movies were great as per the number of good ratings received from the critics but failed to reach public attention due to lack of advertising. The decision made by the director may seem logical at first glance, but some questions need to be answered before we can reach to a strong conclusion.

Firstly, the question that needs to be asked if the marketing department while preparing their report, considered other production company's performance in last year as well. It is possible that last year, due to a financial crisis or other socio-economic reason, people in general, decided to spend less in entertainment sector. In that case, the number of positive reviews as well as the quality of the movies actually did not matter. So a decision to invest more on the advertising sector may not change the scenario this year if the financial crisis sustains.

Secondly, the points taken into consideration while judging the movies might not be aligned with the taste of general public. It is possible that the critics looked into the more esoteric materials of the movies such as camera-work, the subtle ways of storytelling or the strong message hidden in each scenes of the movie. These might not be the things that general people want to see when they go to movies for entertainment. They might find these creative things hard to understand and insipid, leading them to not watch the movies.

Lastly, it is also possible the kind of actors that Super Screen Movies are casting are not widely popular and fail to attract more people into their movies. For instance, "Matir Moyna" was a good film that won the hearts of the critics, and also many international awards, but it failed to gain any profit from the theaters as there was not a single renowned actor in that film. Had there been a big movie star in it, it could have at least profited more than what they had gained. In such case, instead of investing in advertisement, they should try to take bigger stars who are not only popular but also so charismatic that people often ignore the quality of the movies and just go to watch them for the leading character portrayed by their favorite actors.