Undergraduate students majoring in Business or in the Sciences should not be required to take any courses in the Humanities since those courses won’t benefit their future careers.

The prompt suggests that the undergraduate students with business and science major does not require humanities considering they might not be helpful for their future careers. Even though there are some logic behind this suggestion, I believe, an underground student, from any sorts of background, should take one or two basic humanities courses relating to sociology, laws, psychology or international relationship to help in broadening his/her mind.

For a person, to be successful in his career, chosen based on his undergrad major, is the most common desire. But this is often not achievable- there might be a scarcity of jobs in the related field. It can also occur that the jobs related to the undergraduate major are not paying well enough. On such occasions, a person may want to change his career path and explore other fields. So, having very basic ideas of the important courses from other major sectors can give a person upper hand in his/her search for career-shifting.

Secondly, intermingling various knowledge is always better for quick growth for any person. An engineering student with the knowledge of humanities courses, such as, international relationship will find it easier in his later life when he is involved in designing a project under foreign compliance or associating large multinational companies. The psychology knowledge can pave the way to earn customer's trust for a businessman who had earned his undergraduate degree in business. Moreover, humanities courses such as social behavior, leadership management etc. can teach a person how to communicate with others in a decent way and manage people who works under his supervision.

Although there are already a heavy load of course work for the business and science related undergrad majors, one or two basic humanities courses are required for a student's mental enlightenment, ameliorated communication skill and better chance at career switching in future, which can be achieved by taking some basic humanities courses along with the regular ones.