It is primarily through our identification with social groups that we define ourselves.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the

statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and

supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or

might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

How a person likes to define himself may vary from man to man- some may prioritize the social establishment they have, while some would like to define themselves by their personal achievements, individual perseverance and motivation of their family members. Therefore, identification through social groups, while being an important one, is definitely not the primary case of consideration.

The people we mix with, social groups we interact with play vital roles in developing our characters. A teenage guy who mixes with meritorious students might feel the necessity to go through his text books or his homework to at least save his reputation among his friends and thus becoming a regular student at least, if not a meritorious one. On the other hand, the student who is constantly mixing with drop outs and notorious, careless boys who hardly care about their life, may become reluctant about life goals soon or frustration may get into his way when trying to focus on his career. Thus or social groups can define and design ourselves.

However, examples of growing up on a poor social background and becoming a billionaire through diligence and personal struggle are not rare. A person, no matter how his/her surroundings are, if focused enough, can overcome all sorts of negative influence and achieve his life goals and be recognized for his own doings, not necessarily which group he belongs to or what social background he has. If such was the scenario, we would have never seen a Nelson Mandela or Martin Luther King- born during a reign of racism, they would have also been one of the many oppressed people. But they raised their voice, no matter what was going on their surroundings, they made it to the top, ended up as great leaders and torch-bearer against racism and human rights.

To conclude, it is more important to look into one's own self, nourish it, polish it to the pinnacle of self development and thus make himself known to others than to think about what kind of social group he seems to be intermingled.