Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

A leader is the person who not only leads a group of people, but he inspires them, trains them and brings out the better version of them, sometimes with words, or often by just being tacit. It is stated in the prompt that keeping the respect of his people uphold rather than judging them by their deeds is more important for a leader. Even though it is important to ensure justice and honesty in applying law and action against the wrong doers, I agree with the fact that a leader should be more sensible to keep the dignity of his followers and careful so that his people do not feel humiliated by him.

No one can become a leader by himself- he needs the support of a certain number of people, who believes in him, respects him and are very well aligned with his principles. These people follow him because he speaks for them, not just leads them from the front, but also resonates their thoughts and ideas. He lifts them up and helps them overcome their drawbacks, their struggles. So, obviously, they do not expect their leader to be judgmental to their deeds, instead, they want him to be supportive all the times. Even if they do something unethical or morally unacceptable, they expect their head-person to be tolerant, understanding and want him to look deeper for the motive behind his action rather than immediate action against their misdeeds.

A leader needs to be more focused on the motive of an action rather than the incident itself to find out what actually is playing the part to cause it. An imminent action may discourage others to do the same wrong thing, but it also fails to uproot the actual reason behind the unethical deed of his followers. Moreover, the humiliation and exposure of the followers often deteriorates their mental conditions and inspires them to go down the wrong path even more strongly. So a leader needs be subtle. Instead of reprimanding them harshly, he can send them a message with warning. Or he can express his disappointment towards them which will work as demotivator when they think of taking the wrong path again.

A leader's respect is also defined by the deeds of his followers action and achievement. Their great works, inventions or achievements is somehow credited to their leader's name as well. Similarly, any massive bad occurrence conducted by their action also gets entangled with the leaders name, making people question the person they follow. So, exposing the followers wrong doings can often bring disgrace for the leader's own name, even leading to his resignation and downfall.

To conclude, a leader needs to be diplomatic with all his actions and decisions. Even though 'doing the right thing' should not be compromised, but a leader needs to be more pragmatic and prescient. For greater good and a permanent reduction of misdeeds, a leader should give more importance to keep the dignity of his followers high, motivated and actions for wrong doings should be taken subtly without causing any harm to their reputation.