“The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones”

To teach someone can often lead to equivocal situations such as to motivate for the good jobs or to admonish for the bad ones. The prompt suggests that condoning the negative ones and praising for the positive ones is the best way to teach. The suggestion, even though, not completely wrong, in the sense that, motivation is important in the way of learning, I believe, warning for the mistakes is also necessary.

Teaching is said to be a noble profession. A teacher introduces student with new topics, makes the complex scenarios comprehensible to the students. Teaching does not only involve making the convoluted topics intelligible, but also a teacher nourishes the mind of the student to think in a positive manner. The mental growth of a person is largely dependent on teacher’s behavior towards him. So when a student gets praised for his achievements, it motivates him to aim for another achievement. The laudable words of the instructor helps him to do even better the next time. Positive words also work as a measurement of reputation for a person. A sense of reputation can insert a sense of losing that reputation as well, making that person to try his best in keeping his reputation afloat. So, he tries to abstain from the negative ones that can lead to a demeaning situation for him. Thus, a laudable approach to a student’s success can drive him in the correct path and make him a better learner.

However, turning a deaf ear to student’s negative deeds can be detrimental to his learning path. Because often it is seen that condoning mistakes leads to bigger mistakes and ultimately works as a subtle demotivating element for a person to learn anything at all. When mistakes are made the first time, a teacher should confront him. Instead of giving tacit approval, he should ask him about the reasons of such mistake. Furthermore, a teacher should dig deep and try to find a solution to any sort of problem that the student is facing. Without making the student accountable, a teacher can never find the actual problems let alone solve them. If the negative deeds do not stop happening even after solving the problem the student is facing, then the teacher should strongly warn him and make him understand about the effects of his mistakes. It is not necessary to reprimand harshly at the very first sight of the mistake, but an encouraging speech along with a brief warning can certainly work as a tonic to overcome the negative aspects of the learner.

Few occasional pats on the back can motivate a learner highly, few commendations from the instructor himself can make the learner for focused and energized. But no person is free from mistakes. So, committing mistakes is not an uncommon thing, especially when learning something new or convoluted. In my opinion, even if the minor mistakes can be left blindly, the major ones must be confronted and asked about, and if necessary, minor punishment is permissible for the betterment of the student himself.